

Membership & Leadership Committee June 5, 2023 Meeting Notes

Attendees: Wendy Brill-Wynkoop and Howard Eskew

Absent: Kim Perigo, Rebecca Eikey, Jennifer Shanoski, Chantal Lamourelle and Monica Nolasco

Staff: Evan Hawkins and Herlim Li

- 1) Committee assignment suggestion and review
 - a) Committee request
 - b) 2024 FACCC committee recommendations
- 2) Communications Committee
 - a) Dana DeMercurio
 - i) Communications was Dana's first committee choice
- 3) Counselor's Committee
 - a) John Noyola
 - i) John is a fairly new member who served on our BIPOC committee last year
 - b) Michele Hittleman
 - i) Michele's first committee choice is Counselor's
- 4) Legislation and Advocacy Committee
 - a) Libby Cook
 - i) Leg is Libby's first choice and she's on CCCEOPSA Executive Board
 - b) Bob Stockwell
 - Bob has served on various shared governance bodies at his college and district. He co-direct a public policy internship program at De Anza that regularly engages in budgetary and legislative advocacy and also the chair of his local union PAC and a faculty mentor to our union internship.
 - c) Joshua Christ
 - i) He is a leader within the CCA board, the CTE Liaison for MtSAC, and politically active within the MtSAC (workplace) and Fontana (home) spheres
 - d) Emily Haraldson
 - i) Served as the Glendale College Guild President (AFT-2276) for the last three years. Her tenure as president is over as of mid-June and she would like to become more involved with FACCC again as I will have more time to dedicate to statewide issues that matter to faculty.
 - e) Daniel Judge
 - Served as the East Los Angeles College AFT 1521 Chapter Chair (President) and past longtime AFT 1521 Executive Board member. Currently serves as the District Mathematics Council Chair of the Los Angeles Community College District and member

of the Data and Research Committee for the Statewide Academic Senate. I am a member of the LACCD AB705/1705 Task Force Committee as well. Due to AB705/AB1705.

- 5) Membership and Leadership Committee
 - a) Nicole Barta
 - i) Referred by Kim Peigo
 - b) Joel Blank
 - i) Longtime committee member and former vice chair of FACCC PAC
- 6) FACCC PAC Committee
 - a) Josh Franco
 - i) Worked in the State Capitol from 2007-2009 for Lt. Governor John Garamendi. In 2009, was Coordinator under Campaign Manager Bill Cavala for John Garamendi for Congress.
 - b) Linda Myers
- 7) Part-Time Committee
 - a) Cynthia Mahabir
 - b) Jacob Traugott
 - i) On the LRCFT part time faculty committee.
 - c) Sue Broxholm
 - Serves on the Executive Committee of California Part-Time Faculty Association and is a member of AFT 1493 and PFT 1603.
 - d) Arnie Schoenberg
 - i) Helped to organize Part-Time symposiums, Advocacy & Policy conferences, and other FACCC events since 2008. I have already served on the Part-Time Faculty Committee but withdrew when I accepted a temporary full-time position. Now that the full-time position is over I would like to return to the Part-Time Committee, or wherever I'm needed.
- 8) Policy Committee
 - a) Joseph J. Bielanski, Jr.
 - i) Has previously served on the Legislation and Advocacy Committee.
 - b) Richard Mahon
 - i) A 25 year FACCC member, former FACCC board member, former state ASCCC Exec member, former ACCJC Commissioner (and current WASC Commissioner).
 - c) Ian Walton
- 9) Professional Development Committee
 - a) Tyler Wyckoff
 - i) Worked as a Classified staff member in the Sacramento City College Staff Resource Center, which is the department responsible for coordinating and helping to facilitate college-wide professional development. During that time I served on the SCC Professional Development Committee, which is a college-wide standing committee.
- 10) Retirement Committee
 - a) Adam Westman
 - i) Past FACCC President
 - b) David Milroy
 - i) Served on the part time committee.
 - c) Ventris Woods
- 11) BIPOC Committee
 - a) Mzilikazi Kone
 - i) BIPOC committee was her first choice
- 12) Adjourn